Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

This morning I thought I would make some bread. The last time I ever came in contact with ‘bread’ baking was when my grandmother used to make it when I was a small child. I assumed it would be an awfully messy job.

I’m quite a foodie & chef but as far as baking is concerned I was somewhat in the dark. I did my research on twitter & asked the question about where to start?

Thanks to @cloudstratuk I had the info I needed about which bread mix to buy!

Dough in early stages of production

I was advised to buy the “Wright’s Baking’ Premium White Bread mix as it was easy to make by just adding water.. This I think I could do?

Basically making bread with this mix was as simple as pouring the packet contents into a bowl, adding half a pint of lukewarm water and mixing all together for 5 minutes. Then leaving on a floured surface for 5 minutes, kneading & stretching for a  few minutes then leaving to stand again!

I even bought a new 2lb loaf tin specially for this ‘baking related’ project today.  After the dough had been kneaded, stretched & beaten into submission, off to the loaf tin it went, covered with cling film (which I had to fight with to get out of the packet) Me & cling film often disagree!

Dough proving in the loaf tin by the radiator

The dough had to be covered in the loaf tin with cling film and be left to double in size for about 30 to 40 minutes in a warm place. In my case I put the loaf tin on a chair by a radiator. I switched on the oven during this time so it would come up to the require temperature.

After 35 minutes the dough had risen perfectly and then I popped it in the oven for 30 minutes.

The end result & perfect fresh crusty bread

Half an hour later & a beautifully smelling flat later. The loaf was baked.

I really can’t believe how simple this was!  I’m a homemade bread convert now & shall be baking more!

Lunch was some lovely organic smoked salmon which was delicious with the nice warm fresh homemade bread!

Wright’s Baking Website

Leave a Reply

